X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Zenith
    • Jun 2009

Leather shoe dying

I did a quick search to see if there was a specific topic on this, didn't find one. If thread is inappropriate by all means remove.

I have had about 3-4 pairs of shoes/boots which I never wear due to their colour. Since I heard that cobblers will dye leather shoes I went to almost all cobblers within a mile radius. They all gave me a confused stunned look and simply told me to "do it myself". Being extremely inexperienced with such a procedure I found it a bit daunting that I would get it wrong, do a botched job and butcher my footwear. After a month of procrastination. I finally buckled down and attempted to dye several shoes. Each with a different material. Keep in mind I have no previous experience with leather dyes in any form, so forgive me if this too basic

First attempt were suede shoes. This was actually pretty brainless, clean with brush, add coat, leave to dry, add another coat, leave to dry, brush up again. It was so amazingly straightforward I was quiet baffled why I didn't attempt this sooner.

Second attempt was on smooth leather. These boots:

First was to wipe leather down with a methylated spirit. I assumed this would clean down and strip some of the existing dye. To my surprise at the time the leather looked pretty much exactly the same. I tried my first coat of dye, and it was immediately absorbed into the leather. After 3 coats I finally got roughly the shade I wanted. Rubbed down and polish with shoe cream and voila:

Very rewarding experience so far.
  • the breaks
    • Sep 2007

I've also tried this and found it surprisingly easy technically but quite laborous overall. What dye did you use?
    Suede is too Gucci.

Comment

• Peasant
      • Jul 2009

There's some more discussion on leather dying in this thread.