• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pennickNY
    • Jan 2012

Elk leather Jacket

helloooo all,

So for my last project, I did an outfit inspired by Mongolian nomads(deels), I have a long spiel, but I'll save that for another day.

This jacket is made of elk leather and has wool inserts in the spiral sleeve that has extra room for "scrunch-ability"

unfortunately it is unfinished at the time(no lining/facings or closure), but hey that's the style these days right, Jk i will finish it soon and i also need to hammer out the seams more.

so this took me 3 muslins and a lot of work on the sleeve pattern, as wrapping sleeves just suck to pattern.

Here it is my first time working with leather, fits like a glove.

• ACM
    • Jan 2011

SO beautiful. The leather looks like it has such a wonderful texture to it. I have yet to try the wrapping sleeve pattern. How did you go about doing it?

Comment

• pennickNY
      • Jan 2012

Lots of trial and error, I actually stumbled upon it by accident, with the last coat I made, which I should also post here, but basically i keep it straight from armhole-elbow line, then start to curve out the sleeve from there (about 45 degrees) making sure each length is the same on both sides.

So I don't have this big mathematical scheme, those were my basic guidlines

thats how I do it, couldn't really ask for advice on a better method as most people were confused just looking at the initial drafts.

Comment

• pennickNY
        • Jan 2012

Oh and thank you for the compliment i really appreciate it.

Comment

• originalre0
          • Jan 2011

really lovely , great pattern cutting skill

Comment

• Magic1
            • Jan 2011

Cool pattern, let's see it on. leather looks really nice too.

Comment

• zamb
              • Nov 2006

Jacket looks nice
              Nice idea for a first try, the back is really nice.......