X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Servo2000
    • Oct 2006

Watches

It seems that with the minimalist style that a lot of people here are interested in that watches might be removed in favor of less accessorization, but frankly, I like the way they look on the arm. I think it adds an interesting element to a look. I've heard it said that you can tell a lot about a man by his watch. So, basically, I'm looking for a watch. I'm looking at these two:

Daniel Will-Harris Reveal Watch

M&Co 10-1-4

Primarily because they're really cheap, but if anyone has any suggestions, I'd be willing to pay more, as I'll probably have to replace the bands on both of these if I were to pick either of them up in the first place.

So far, it's been either those two, or a "replica" of a much nicer watch from http://perfect-clones.com/index.php. I'm no horology expert, but they look nice and I've heard from people that they stand up to intense scrutiny.

WTB: Rick Owens Padded MA-1 Bomber XS (LIMO / MOUNTAIN)
  • Faust
    kitsch killer
    • Sep 2006

Re: Watches

Servo, personally I don't think you should buy a replica, unless you are only absolutely in love with the design. Otherwise it might make you feel a bit fake, like the replica [;)] . I agree that you should definitely look into cheap watches. Watches are a funny market, one should buy either a $30 or a $3k watch - everything in between is branding (I am referring to those Gucci, EA, Dior watches, and such). I think two types of people buy expensive Swiss watches - those who demand or need a status symbol (yes, sometimes it's a need for a status symbol that allows you to fit in - financial industry is a great example), and those who appreciate artisanship (tradition, craftmanship, etc.). Because functionally, any $10 DIGITAL watch will be more precise than the most expensive mechanical watch.