X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Who?
    • Aug 2007

An Experiment in Jewelry

So I have the opportunity to try my hand at creating some jewelry. The process involves carving wax, casting a mold and creating a piece in either silver or gold. I am at the carving process right now. I began with a brick of green Jelenko wax. This wax is brittle and dense, it should be molded with instruments that have been heated with a Bunsen burner but I don't have one at the moment so I just used sharper instruments (an Xacto knife and a wax carving tool) and tried to be careful. Since I have no experience with craving I started with the simple form of a spike/nail. Basically it ended up being a slow process of widdling the wax until it took the form I wanted.

More will follow...

WTB/WTT: Lots of Things
  • Chinorlz
    • Sep 2006

Re: An Experiment in Jewelry

I can't wait!
    www.AlbertHuangMD.com - Digital Portfolio Of Projects & Designs

Merz (5/22/09):"i'm a firm believer that the ultimate prevailing logic in design is 'does shit look sick as fuck' "

Comment

• Casius
      • Dec 2006

Yea, I can't wait to see where this goes!

Who, I've also worked with PMC before and you may want to check it out. (PMC) It's really moldable in the clay form and then you can heat it up with a torch or in your oven and then bam, you have jewelry! I'm trying to perfect making rings right now but I really need to get a ring mandrel to get it round.

But as far as pendants and more 2D objects are concerned, it's very easy to make with PMC.

"because the young are whores. dealers come to carol to get the rock"

Comment

• Chinorlz
        • Sep 2006

holy shit. I didn't know this stuff existed!

now post-firing is it brittle if you were to hit it with a hammer? Or does it deform like "real" metal?

Merz (5/22/09):"i'm a firm believer that the ultimate prevailing logic in design is 'does shit look sick as fuck' "

Comment

• Casius
          • Dec 2006