X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • sharkweek
    • Apr 2008

sewing leather

I'm looking to make a leather bag. I've got a simple totepattern mapped out, but I'm curious about which type of awl, weight ofthread, andneedles to use as well as the best way to make and attach handles and a lining. I'm not entirely new to sewing, but I've never worked with leather before.

So far I've heard poly thread is my best option and for strengthI'm planning on sewing the bag using a technique I saw used in an Hermès documentary. I beleive it was called saddle stitching, but I'm not sure.It used two needles allowing the thread to cross over and overlap in every hole.
  • kira
    • Mar 2008

Re: sewing leather

i have no idea

Distraction is an obstruction of the construction.

Comment

• philip nod
      • Aug 2007

[74]
      One wonders where it will end, when everything has become gay.

Comment

• zamb
        • Nov 2006

Sharkweek,

If you were sewing this by machine i might be able to give you some advice, but i have very liitle (almost none) experience in sewing leather by hand.......

Good luck to you on this project though.

“You know,” he says, with a resilient smile, “it is a hard world for poets.”
        .................................................. .......................

Zam Barrett Spring 2017 Now in stock

Comment

• Chinorlz
          • Sep 2006

So while working on some gloves it's become quite apparent that stitching the seams by hand not only sucks but results in some severe irregularities and imprecision. You just cant get the seams tight enough by hand.

Time to invest in a machine. Saw a video of a Yuki industrial sewing machine rocking through 3 layers of leather with ease... should I go with a Yuki or will most industrial sewing machines be able to handle 3 layers of 1mm thick calf leather? The elephant leather is going to be about 3-4 mm thick I think so the ability of the machine is KEY.

Thanks guys!!