X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • genzou2.0
    • Jul 2008

CCP/Julius bend nail ring

I was reading the accesory section of scoute.org yesterday and thought to myself that I would take on the quest of making the Julius/CCP bent nail ring.

I have some experience with jewelry making from highschool so I went and got a ring mandrel and gathered whatever tools I could find. I thought this would only take 5 minutes but it actually took me up to an hour.

I used a 4" nail this time but actually it was a bit too small even for my skinny fingers. So I gave it to my gf. Next time I will try with a different nail, longer, softer, and with a bigger end part more like the Julius ring.

• genzou2.0
    • Jul 2008

Re: CCP/Julius bend nail ring

Heres a pic of it being worn

Comment

• Rubbish
      • Jul 2008

Wow, that looks absolutely fantastic! Very well executed.

Have you considered treating the rings you make in the future in any way, or do you plan to leave them as is?

Comment

• Secretside
        • Jul 2008

that looks really great, genzou! be sure to post pictures of nail ring #2.

Comment

• genzou2.0
          • Jul 2008

thanks guys

Im planning on making the same one but bigger, and with a bigger end part, the flat part you hit with a hammer.

also im looking into paints that will work on metal

ill keep you guys posted but im gon be busy during the weekend so it wont be until next week

Comment

• humancrack
            • Feb 2008

good to see you here genzou.

Comment

• HWith
              • May 2007

I think Mike did a pretty good job painting the clothing rack he made. Maybe you could talk to him about metal colours and coating?

[quote user="mike lowrey"]

bumping this since I made something a couple of days ago:

took several paint coats to get the right gothninja shade [86]

[/quote]

[quote user="genzou2.0"]

thanks guys

Im planning on making the same one but bigger, and with a bigger end part, the flat part you hit with a hammer.