X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • therapysessions
    • Jul 2007

Classical music + fashion update

I figured there might be some classical music listeners here (and maybe some that have no interest in it, which is good) because I wanted to see what everyones opinion is on this subject.

My girlfriend is a classical musician who's been spearheading a project that merges classical music with fashion, with the ultimate goal of changing the way people view classical music and attract new listeners.

Being a fashion designer myself and a non-classical music listener has given me an outside perspective on things. The idea really peaked my interest when I started reading a blog by Greg Sandow, a teacher at julliard and a classical music critic and a project runway/fashion fan that wants to do away with formal wear in the genre. (read more here: http://www.artsjournal.com/sandow/)

Your life is the best story! Just start your blog today!

I recently made a post on my blog about my thoughts: to sum it up. I completely agree with Greg on this matter. That classical musicians need to strip its aristocratic image and be restyled to be more current and assimilate into pop culture. And I've been getting a mixed bag of responses.

What I like about this subject is that I feel it shows the importance of aesthetics, even in something that is primarily about listening. I was wondering what everyones thoughts on this subject is, not only with classical music but anything else that has been retooled or needs retooling aesthetically. Would a change of wardrobe (and most likely venues) revive classical music?

And I know this is the complete fashion side of me speaking, but I'd be way more interested in seeing a performer wearing some margiela or commes..I've been pressuring my gf to get those margiela glasses, but then she'd probably need some sort of backlit sheet music :P
  • Faust
    kitsch killer
    • Sep 2006