X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ahlefeldt
    • May 2008

Frillr | Interview With Designer Robert Geller

What can you tell me about your background?

I was born in Hamburg, Germany in 1976. I lived in Hamburg, Frankfurt, Paris and Los Angeles before attending the Rhode Island school of design in 1997. In 2001 I graduated in fashion and moved to New York and began my internship at marc Jacobs. That is where I met Alexandre Plokhov and we revamped cloak, which he had started a couple of seasons before. We designed 4 seasons together from spring 03 to fall 04. After I left I started a small womenswear project named Harald. After 2 seasons of this project I was approached to launch a menswear line under my own name. Now I am set up with production and financial support and will show my 5th season in February.

Do you like to talk about yourself or your design?

Not so much. I realize that it is important to share where the ideas are coming from and that there has to be an interest in the designer. It is difficult, sometimes, to put into words what is mainly a visual process. The most important thing is that the clothes are interesting. What I say just helps to explain the journey.

What are your first major fashion memories? (what made you want to work
    in fashion?) - and ultimately what inspired you to start your own line?

My father is a photographer, so I spent a lot of time in his studio growing up. I guess this is what started my fascination with this industry. After I graduated from school I went to work as a photographers assistant for 2 years. It was when I arrived at R.I.S.D., that I switched to fashion design and I always had the dream to launch my own line. Cloak happened very quickly after graduating, I owe a lot to Alexandre for showing me how things work. It is actually quite shocking how many things have to fall into place for things to work in this business.

Can you list a few of the accomplishments that you are most proud of? ... So far