X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Test
    • Dec 2008

Clothing / Fashion Construction Books, Projects

What are the clothing and fashion construction books you guys like the most? This includes basics, draping, sketching, patternmaking, etc.

This thread is pretty selfish since I've been promising myself I'd start learning this stuff for a couple years but haven't gotten around to it. I ask that when you make book suggestions assume the audience has no experience. If you're suggesting an advanced book explain what level of experience is expected. I'm aware a lot of this stuff is experiential (e.g.s: deconstruct your own stuff and learn; take a class), but personally I work best with some sort of structure and I don't have classes available nearby.

Along with books, please post simple projects you know of. I've heard some simple stuff is tapering your own jeans, slimming down shirts, etc. Feel free to post your advice to beginners, too.
  • Test
    • Dec 2008

These initial choices (and descriptions) are just what I've found through reading reviews and posts throughout the net. Please list your own experience and criticisms.

General Reference
    New Complete Guide to Sewing (Reader's Digest): Clear step-by-step pictures. References for techniques. Everything you need to know in terms of basic and semi-advance construction.

A Guide to Fashion Sewing: Step by Step guide to the basics with a good deal of illustrations. Excellent reference guide but not recommended for beginners. Also expensive compared to the Reader's Digest Guide.

Sketching
    Fashion Illustration for Designers: Very detailed, divided by type of garment.

Fashion Sketchbook: Well-regarded for beginners but possibly outdated in its model types.

Menswear Patterns