X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • laughed
    • Jul 2009

New Yorkers, where do I live?

I'll make this short, I am moving to NYC soon. Going to go to school at Hunter for fine arts. I have been to NY twice but you know, it's huge. And I know that unless you LIVE somewhere you really don't get the feel for it. Basically, I am an artist, I do want to be in a "hip" area. Yes, I hate saying that. God. Anyway, I am ignorant to all of this so please forgive me, but I have "heard" that Williamsburg is a nice place...but I have also heard that it is "played out" and full of people who "care more about their hair than art". I have also heard that Chinatown, and the Lower East Side are kinda cool. If anybody can fill me in that would be great. Size of place doesn't matter. I'm not really talking price or any of that, I do thrive off of "energy" and "real" happenings. Not phony stuff, not tourist stuff. I like to have a good drink every once in a while, good cheap food, but basically I nice place where you know...it's cool.
    Thanks.
  • Faust
    kitsch killer
    • Sep 2006

New York is dead. Long live New York!

At Hunter you are pretty much far away from all cool areas. Williamsburg is actually an Ok commute, as you can take L to U.Square and then hop on the 4/5 uptown. I don't like Willimasburg for the same reason others told you about, but the entire city is like that, I think. We live in the age where rebellion is dead, commerce catches up to everything the speed of light, and making it is either too hard or too easy. So, might as well move to Williamsburg. I prefer Caroll Gardens though - that's my ideal neighborhood. I like Dumbo as a neighborhood as well - if it was not for the yuppies that make up the majority of the population, living there would be like lsitening to industrial music 24/7, and I'm partial to that.
    Fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months - Oscar Wilde

StyleZeitgeist Magazine

Comment