X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • dmash
    • Jun 2011

Learning Languages..

I thought this would be great for me to ask on here as SZ has members from many different countries!

Right now I'm dabbling in Spanish (learned a small bit in high school, just now getting reacquainted with it) but I would like to go ahead and study another language as well (I enjoy learning language and find it fun). I started learning Spanish again as I live in Florida, obviously there's a large Spanish speaking population here. The other language I want to start learning will be purely for recreational purposes.

Right now I'm between German & Italian for the next language. I really enjoy Europe and cities in both of those countries (however clubbing in Berlin is the BEST ). I would like some feedback as to what you might view a pro/con to either one of those? I've sort of weighed out both and I'm sort of getting an even amount of 'pros' for each one.

Any feedback would be appreciated as this is something that I will invest years of my time into, so I would love to hear other opinions before I make a decision. Thanks in advance!

if you learn spanish, adding italian and portugese would be easier. however, with german you would be able to branch out into dutch and flemish.

How about french?

Comment

• dmash
      • Jun 2011

It will be just to do it, in all honesty. However I won't halfass it and study for a couple months and give up, it's definitely something I plan out putting some years into and actually conversing in.

One of the turn offs for me learning German though was that almost everyone I ever talked to in Berlin, spoke VERY good English. This wasn't the same for me at all when I visited Italy, especially Milan. I guess Italians like their language a bit more

As for French, eh, IDK, I've just never really had that much of an interest in it.

Comment

Originally posted by BritishFashionaire
        As well as Swedish, Danish and Norwegian.