X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • sixledge
    • Dec 2011

How to finish a raw edge?

I am new to making clothes and did not go to school for it but wanted to try and make a few small things for fun.

So far I have gained any even larger appreciation for the clothes I wear as the process has proved to be much more difficult than I imagined.

However, I did make a t-shirt that fits well but I am looking for tips on how to finish it.

Are there any methods/tips/tricks I can use to finish a raw cut edge? Around the sleeves and on the collar? I assume I have to fold a new piece of fabric over the edge somehow?
  • The Great Destroyer
    • Nov 2010

There are many ways to go about doing this and since I suppose that you made the T-shirt out of some kind of knit fabric you have a couple of choices depending on the aesthetic you're going for.

1. Leave the edges raw, obvious but it's worth mentioning that knit fabrics do not ravel like most woven fabrics do. Therefore you can leave all edges raw if you want to. (See Rick, Julius etc.)

2. The neck can be finished with a strip of Bias-cut (cut on the diagonal) fabric, either cut from the same fabric as the body of the garment or a contrasting one, purely an aesthetic choice, folded over the raw edges. However since the fabric you used probably has some stretchability you would do wise in choosing a fabric with similar or even greater stretchability in order to keep the seams from ripping when you put the t-shirt on.

3. Like nr2 cut a strip of fabric, fold in two, and sew onto the neckline like a very low collar, look at some of your RTW t-shirts and you should be able to figure it out.

4. For the hem of the body and the sleeves you can either fold the fabric under itself and topstitch in place or you can follow nr3 and make cuffed sleeves and a ribbed hem (think bomber jacket except smaller). This would probably be the option which provides the "sportiest" look.