• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Faust
    kitsch killer
    • Sep 2006

"Co-Op brands" - Diffusion lines, jean/tshirt lines, etc. discussion

On the heels of Laika's suggestion I want to kick off this thread.

I don't know exactly how to name these brands, most are called "streetwear" but its not an accurate definition. I like to call them Co-Op brands, because Barneys Co-Op unites them pretty well - you'll see Rogan, Rag & Bone next to Acne and Nudie, Edun next to Marc by Marc Jacobs, as well as Tsubi, Ksubi, Woobie, Doobie and so on.

Given a good amount of posters who x-post on SuFu I think it would be an interesting discussion. How do you judge these labels, what's your criteria of choice, and so on? Who do you think is the real deal? Obviously True Religion is not like Wings & Horns, etc.

From what I've seen (and I am no expert in it, I think people who know denim well know much more than I do), I think Rag & Bone takes the cake. I think they have graduated from making jeans (and good ones at that) into more interesting tailored clothes, well constructed and well made. I think something like Rogan has never delivered and was all hype to begin with (does anyone still buy that?), although he has spawned numerous imitators and is kind of like a godfather to the whole premium denim and overpriced sweatshirts thing (genius).

What else is there? What are your favorites and why? Shoot.

Fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months - Oscar Wilde

StyleZeitgeist Magazine
  • Servo2000
    • Oct 2006

Re: "Co-Op brands" - Diffusion lines, jean/tshirt lines, etc. discussion

I don't really have a 'standard' for which I approach them, and I certainly judge them with different criteria. I tend to approach them solely from a design perspective, that is, if a company is known for making "Premium Denim," is the denim actually premium? Is it well designed? How is it priced?